Miller Cohen Peterson Young P.C.

Miller Cohen Peterson Young P.C. - Reviews

3 Star Rating     8 reviews

https://www.mcpylaw.com 
Main Office:
P.O. Box 1259, 344 Main Street | Longmont | | 80502
Phone:   | Fax:  

Follow This Firm Write an Anonymous Review

See reviews for Miller Cohen Peterson Young P.C. from attorneys and other legal professionals below.

Miller Cohen Peterson Young P.C. Reviews


"Horrible job"   - Anonymous      Write an Anonymous Review

- Reviewed on April 28, 2019

Advice to law firm management: Look at the turnover. Read these reviews instead of posting duplicate 5 star reads. Do some soul searching and figure out what it is that causes people to dislike MCPY so much. At a certain point, doing the same thing over, getting the same results, should tell you something. The problem isn't your hires, rather, it is yourself. Figure how how to fix your failings. You're great attorneys, but you're terrible people with those whom you hire.

Pros: The area is quaint. There's plenty of food locations surrounding the area, and the fact that they close the entire place down during lunch is nice.

Cons: Everything. It is a horrible job where you're treated like garbage. The staff and attorney turnover is fairly significant. Don't bother asking a question, lest you'll be accused of hijacking their day, or be met with a mutliple hour lecture.

Partners to Avoid and Why: I tried to work with both. That didn't go well as I was accused of hijacking their day if I asked the wrong question, asked to many questions, or they just wanted someone to kick around.

Favorite Things About this Firm: There isn't anything I enjoyed. I wish there was, but this was my first job out of law school and it made me question my choices leading up to, during and after law school.

Current or former employee?: Former Employee

Last Year at Employer: 2018

Job type: Full time
Write an Anonymous Review

"MCPY "   - Anonymous      Write an Anonymous Review

- Reviewed on April 25, 2019

Advice to law firm management: Continue to show your appreciation for the employees. Sometimes people just need to be reminded that they are doing good work and that they are a valuable asset to the firm.

Pros: All of the employees are supportive and willing to be patient and understanding in order to help others learn and accomplish what they need to. The firm is very team oriented, so everyone works together to get things done and help out one another when needed.

Cons: At times there can be a large work load and it can lead to a stressful environment. One of the greatest struggles of the job is accepting that not everything is going to get done everyday.

Partners to Avoid and Why: You should not avoid either of the partners. Both are helpful in different ways and you can learn a lot from each of them.

Favorite Things About this Firm: Working at MCPY is like being a part of another family. I have learned so much through this job and I am grateful for the knowledge that I have gained and the people that I have met while working here.

Current or former employee?: Current Employee

Job type: Full time
Write an Anonymous Review

"great place to work"   - Anonymous      Write an Anonymous Review

- Reviewed on April 04, 2019

Advice to law firm management: I would advise less time behind closed doors if possible. The closed door can make an employee, particularly a new one feel like you are inaccessible to them. I think if you are more accessible it will make the staff feel more comfortable with you in a general sense.

Pros: The best part of working for MCPY is the autonomy given. I appreciate being able to do my job without someone constantly looking over my shoulder. MCPY gives this autonomy, but has high expectation about work product and productivity. I appreciate this.

Cons: Although not a current problem, in the past it has been very cliquey among certain employees. These employees are now no longer an issue; however, when it was happening it made for very unpleasant working conditions for those not a part of the clique.

Partners to Avoid and Why: The firm is a two partner firm. I would not recommend avoiding either. The more you communicate in an open and non-hostile way the more successful and happier you will be here.

Favorite Things About this Firm: Past employee issues aside, the friendly environment. Everyone is friendly to one another and if someone is ill or having outside of work problems there is always someone willing to offer assistance.

Current or former employee?: Current Employee

Job type: Full time
Write an Anonymous Review

"Stay away."   - Anonymous      Write an Anonymous Review

- Reviewed on March 23, 2019

Advice to law firm management: Grow up. You mention millennials in your duplicate fake review and that speaks bounds as to your mindset. No one is looking for participation awards, rather, we're looking for leadership, trust, and respect. You show none of that.

Pros: There is nothing that I enjoyed about this firm. You're treated like garbage by the partners, and perhaps the best part of the day is leaving.

Cons: Everything. 1. The partners who seemed to take pleasure in berating their associates. 2. Enduring hours, upon hours, of lectures from the partners as to the failings of the associates from everything ranging from their work product, to personal failings they noted. 3. The paralegal who seemed to take a lesson from the partners and seemed to take sadistic pleasure in rejecting filing from the associates for any conceivable reason. 4. The morgue like atmosphere of the place.

Partners to Avoid and Why: Both. One partner will try to tell you that you should be learning how to be an attorney such that you don't need to ask such pointless questions. The other will, like another review, stare blankly at you and roll her eyes. They show no leadership. They don't train you. They believe in sinking or swimming and seem to hire people straight out of law school, "so that they can train them their way." Both seemed to revel making their associates miserable.

Favorite Things About this Firm: I was incredibly happy when I was fired. I've learned, developed, and have become an adept attorney despite my time there. To all other's working there, you're not alone. Others have been where you are, have suffered the same. You deserve better. There are better places than McPee.

Current or former employee?: Former Employee

Last Year at Employer: 2015

Job type: Full time
Write an Anonymous Review

"Productive professional environment. "   - Anonymous      Write an Anonymous Review

- Reviewed on February 18, 2019

Advice to law firm management: Continue to focus your efforts on the hard working staff, with the longevity to build a good foundation for a great working environment. Many will come and go, meanwhile talking as if they had no hand in their failure, but the staff committed to the office will carry on for years.

Pros: A highly qualified firm that is specialized and dedicated to an area of practice. They encourage proficient quality work while providing an environment to thrive in. You are allowed to be industrious and leadership skills are encouraged.

Cons: Quick growth has provided an arena for multiple hires. Indolent people who are interested in doing little and talking much come into the work place and disrupt the work of others. Usually they last for a short time period, however the “Blame Game” affect more than just the apathetic millennials that want their participation ribbons for each small task they complete.

Partners to Avoid and Why: Both partners have spent their entire careers in the office. Intelligent staff are treated as such and get intellectual answers. Hard work is rewarded by both of them. Individuals with circumventing personalities will always avoid management, but I have no problems with the organization.

Favorite Things About this Firm: THE PEOPLE. It’s like a family in every way. Not everyone if going to be your favorite, but you care for them all just the same.

Current or former employee?: Current Employee

Job type: Full time
Write an Anonymous Review

"Productive professional environment. "   - Anonymous      Write an Anonymous Review

- Reviewed on February 18, 2019

Advice to law firm management: Continue to focus your efforts on the hard working staff, with the longevity to build a good foundation for a great working environment. Many will come and go, meanwhile talking as if they had no hand in their failure, but the staff committed to the office will carry on for years.

Pros: A highly qualified firm that is specialized and dedicated to an area of practice. They encourage proficient quality work while providing an environment to thrive in. You are allowed to be industrious and leadership skills are encouraged.

Cons: Quick growth has provided an arena for multiple hires. Indolent people who are interested in doing little and talking much come into the work place and disrupt the work of others. Usually they last for a short time period, however the “Blame Game” affect more than just the apathetic millennials that want their participation ribbons for each small task they complete.

Partners to Avoid and Why: Both partners have spent their entire careers in the office. Intelligent staff are treated as such and get intellectual answers. Hard work is rewarded by both of them. Individuals with circumventing personalities will always avoid management, but I have no problems with the organization.

Favorite Things About this Firm: THE PEOPLE. It’s like a family in every way. Not everyone if going to be your favorite, but you care for them all just the same.

Current or former employee?: Current Employee

Job type: Full time
Write an Anonymous Review

"Most toxic place I have ever worked."   - Anonymous      Write an Anonymous Review

- Reviewed on February 08, 2019

Advice to law firm management: Learn to run a business instead of blaming your turnover rate on “stupid, selfish f******” employees. Dedicate the resources necessary to understanding how to (at the least) retain an employee. Dare I say to go as far as understanding the wants and needs of ANY employee, including adequate training.

Pros: Positives can be found in the fact that every employee seems to be equally miserable so, if you aren’t a complainer, you’ll be able to listen to everyone else do it for you. One may find comfort in knowing you aren’t alone in this daunting environment.

Cons: The partners may be decent lawyers, but they are horrible at running their business. The employee turnover rate speaks for itself. They often claim to be dedicated to mentoring their associates, but “mentoring” is nowhere near what one should expect from these individuals. Instead, they lecture their associates at least twice a week for hours, expect tasks to be done the exact way they would do it (despite claiming they want you to exercise your own style and ability... with nearly no training whatsoever), and belittle their employees constantly. In addition, the office is small, quiet, gloomy, and lacking any natural light.

Partners to Avoid and Why: Both, as they are equally demeaning and belittling. One will likely have questions, as no adequate training is provided so, pick your poison: One partner will take at least an hour of your time to talk in circles about how he would not have needed to ask such a question, while the other will stare at you in silence as if your question was downright idiotic. I assure you, no matter the magnitude of your inquiry, you’ll receive a response of that nature.

Favorite Things About this Firm: The rigid office hours allow you to get in and out without being expected to put in overtime at the office. (Although, putting in extra office time to perfect my craft as an associate of a worthy, stand-up firm would have been much preferred over this highly toxic 9-10 hour work day.)

Current or former employee?: Former Employee

Last Year at Employer: 2018

Job type: Full time
Write an Anonymous Review

"Worst job I ever had"   - Anonymous      Write an Anonymous Review

- Reviewed on April 09, 2018

Advice to law firm management: Relax. Its a harsh business, but you don't have to treat your associates the way you do. Spend the time and teach them exactly what needs to be done. If an associate comes to you more than once, don't claim they're hijacking your day. Its easier to spend a month or two training an associate the way you want, than it is to employ revolving door hiring tactics. I think the clients should be worth this investment in time.

Pros: They claim to be adamant that their associates stick to a equal work/life balance and stick to a strict 8-5 work schedule. Their office is situated in Downtown longmont, and this provides a welcome respite from the stress of working at this place.

Cons: The place feels like a morgue. It's quiet, stifled, and awkward. You're expected to maintain a specific case load, but you do so without any significant help. They'll get excessively pedantic over everything, and you'll be lectured for anywhere from 2-4 hours a week about your failings as an attorney, never mind the fact that some of us were hired straight out of law school without any experience to rely upon. They claim they'll mentor, but I don't believe they know what that word means. If by mentor, they mean demean and belittle ad nauseam, then certainly!

Partners to Avoid and Why: Its a small firm. The partners, unreasonably, expect new attorneys to know exactly what needs to be done despite having no training or mentoring. When they don't do things the way the partners want, they lecture. When they lecture, they're not nice about it.

Favorite Things About this Firm: There was truly nothing I liked about this firm. After three months, I couldn't handle it any further. There wasn't anything, or anyone, that I missed when I left.

Current or former employee?: Former Employee

Last Year at Employer: 2016

Job type: Full time
Write an Anonymous Review